I’m so excited by the way my deck turned out. My hectic summer schedule only allowed me to work on it a square at a time, but the results were worth the wait! In addition to the checkerboard paint detail, I stitched up an awning, some chair cushions, and covered an antique French settee in outdoor fabric. I’m not too worried about putting an antique on my deck with the new awning in place. It just looks soooo romantic out there, I’ll take my chances! I love that in good weather (which is practically year round in San Diego), I can push open the French doors and add a lot more square footage to my house. To continue with the indoors out theme, I like to display artwork and flea market finds… additional layers that give it a look as if its always been there kind of feel. All said, i am very pleased with the results. I have a deck that is very pleasant to spend time on, I’ve added on living space, and I’ve done it all without breaking the bank!

